

Sand Hutton York YO41 1LZ T: 03459 335577 helpline@defra.gov.uk www.gov.uk/defra

Date: 8 November 2023

To: IPPC contact points

Phytosanitary declaration for *Bactrocera latifrons* (Hendel)

I am writing regarding new legislation that has entered into force on 1 October 2023, which will apply to exports from your country.

The changes the legislation makes to our import requirements for *Bactrocera latifrons* (Hendel) requires an advanced declaration to be provided to facilitate trade. Please could you complete the attached template and return it to uknppo@defra.gov.uk at your earliest convenience.

Thank you for your continued cooperation.

Yours sincerely,

Professor Nicola Spence
UK Chief Plant Health Officer

Table 1: Please refer to Annex 7 part A of the retained Phytosanitary Conditions Regulation (2019/2072) when completing this table

			Bactrocera latifrons (Hendel)					
			102B (a) – country freedom	102B (b) - pest free areas (PFAs) - names of PFAs to be provided	102B (d) - systems approach	102B (d) - post- harvest treatment	Date of latest communication / Review	
102B	Fruits of <i>Capsicum</i> L. and <i>Solanum</i> L, originating in	Capsicum L.	the fruits are originate in Jordan which, in accordance with the measures specified in ISPM4, is recognised as being free from Bactrocera latifrons (Hendel)					
	Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mayotte, Morocco, Mozambique,	Solanum L	the fruits are originate in Jordan which, in accordan ce with the measures specified in ISPM4, is recognise d as being free from Bactrocer a latifrons (Hendel)					
	Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Réunion,							

		1		
Rwanda, Sao Tor	ne			
and Principe,				
Senegal,				
Seychelles, Sierra	a			
Leone, Somalia,				
South Africa, Sou	th			
Sudan, Sudan,				
Tanzania, The				
Democratic				
Republic of the				
Congo, Togo,				
Tunisia, Uganda,				
Zambia, Zimbabw	/e,			
Afghanistan,				
Bahrain,				
Bangladesh,				
Bhutan, Brunei				
Darussalam,				
Cambodia, China	,			
India, Indonesia,				
Iran, Iraq, Japan,				
Jordan, Kazakhst	an,			
Kuwait, Kyrgyzsta	an,			
Laos, Lebanon,				
Malaysia, Maldive				
Mongolia, Myanm				
Nepal, North Kore	ea,			
Oman, Pakistan,				
Philippines, Qata	Γ,			
Russia (only the				
following parts: Fa	ar			
Eastern Federal				
District				
(Dalnevostochny				
federalny okrug),				
Siberian Federal				

District (Sibirsky federalny okrug), and Ural Federal District (Uralsky federalny okrug)), Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Syria, Tajikistan, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Turkmenistan, United Arab Emirates,			
Turkmenistan, United Arab			
Uzbekistan,			
Vietnam, and Yemen			