DEPARTMENT FOR ENVIRONMENT, FOOD AND RURAL AFFAIRS

THE FORESTRY COMMISSION

THE PLANT HEALTH (SWEET CHESTNUT BLIGHT) (ENGLAND) ORDER 2017

The Plant Health (Sweet Chestnut Blight) (Demarcated Area No.1) Notice

An inspector authorised for the purposes of the Plant Health (Sweet Chestnut Blight) (England) Order 2017 (S.I. 2017/178) ("the Order") has confirmed the presence of *Cryphonectria parasitica* (Murrill) Barr on premises in the county of Devon, to the south of Exeter.

The Secretary of State and the Forestry Commissioners, in exercise of the powers conferred by article 3(1) of the Order, give the following notice:

Citation

1. This notice may be cited as the Plant Health (Sweet Chestnut Blight) (Demarcated Area No.1) Notice.

Demarcated area

2. The area in the county of Devon within the boundary described in Annex 1 and shown depicted on the map in Annex 3 is demarcated under article 3(1) of the Order.

Infested area

3. The area within the boundary described in Annex 2 and shown depicted on the map in Annex 3 is the infested area for the purposes of the Order.

Controlled area

4. That part of the demarcated area described in paragraph 1 which does not lie within the infested area described in paragraph 2 is the controlled area for the purposes of the Order.

Commencement of prohibitions in article 4(2) of the Order

5. The prohibitions in article 4(2) of the Order apply on or after 24th February 2017, until further notice.

Signed

Gardiner of Kimble Parliamentary Under Secretary of State Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

6 p.m. on 21st February 2017

Signed

Stephen Bennett Secretary to the Forestry Commissioners

9.25 a.m. on 22nd February 2017

ANNEX 1

Description of the boundary of the demarcated area

Starting to the south of Exmouth at the junction of Queens Drive and Maer Lane at SY 010 800, the boundary of the demarcated area follows Maer Lane in a north easterly direction until it reaches the junction with West Down Lane in Littleham at SY 029 811.

From the junction the boundary follows the road left in a northerly direction until it reaches the junction with Littleham Road at SY 029 812.

The boundary then follows Littleham Road in a north westerly direction until the junction with Capel Lane at SY 026 813.

Continuing in a northerly direction, the boundary follows Capel Lane until it reaches the junction with the B3178, Salterton Road, at SY 025 819.

From this junction the boundary follows the B3178 south west until it reaches the junction with Dinan Way at SY 024 819.

The boundary then follows Dinan Way north and then north west until the junction with Bystock Road at SY 019 834.

Bystock Road and then Higher Marley Road are then followed northwards to the junction with the B3179 at SY 022 844.

The boundary follows the B3179 north through the crossroads at SY 021 845 until it reaches the junction at SY 023 851.

From the junction the boundary follows the minor road on the left in a north westerly direction and continues through crossroads at SY 018 852 and at SY 010 854 and at SY 007 855 and then along Stony Lane until the junction at SX 996 857.

The boundary continues along the minor road in a north easterly direction to the junction with Rydon Lane at SY 002 865.

The boundary then follows Rydon Lane north west and then south west through the junction with Mill Lane at SX 984 864 until it reaches the cross roads at Exton at SX 984 863.

The boundary crosses over the A376 Exmouth road and follows Station Road west until it joins the railway at Exton Station SX 980 863.

The boundary continues to follow the railway line north west until it reaches Topsham Station at SX 966 884.

From the Topsham Station the boundary turns south west along Station Road and then Follet Road, crossing the High Street at SX 964 882 and joining Ferry Road at SX 963 882.

The boundary follows Ferry Road to the landing stages and causeway at SX 963 881 and continues along the route of the ferry crossing south west over the River Exe and crosses the two causeways and the swing bridge over the Exeter Canal at SX 962 879 before joining the track at the footbridge at SX 962 879.

The boundary continues along the track and the path south west, crossing four footbridges and joining Station Road at SX 959 875.

The boundary follows Station Road west and crosses the A379 at the roundabout at SX 950 871, where it joins the road through Exminster.

The boundary continues through Exminster west towards the crossroads at Crockwells Road at SX 945 874.

At the crossroads the boundary turns left and follows the road west to the first junction on this road at SX 939 873.

At the junction the boundary turns left and follows the road south west, across the crossroads with Old Dawlish Road at SX 928 859 until it reaches the village of Kenn at SX 922 856.

The boundary follows the road through Kenn in a westerly direction towards the junction with the A38 at Kennford, here it joins the A38 heading south at SX 912 856.

The boundary continues along the A38 southwards until it joins the B3192 at the junction at SX 902 796 and follows the B3192 south towards Teignmouth before branching off to the left at Higher Exeter Road at SX 926 754.

The boundary follows the minor road east until it meets the junction with Holcombe Down Road at SX 937 750 and then it follows Holcombe Down Road eastwards across the Oak Hill crossroads.

The boundary carries on into the town of Dawlish along Oak Hill and Church Street until reaching the junction with Old Town Street at SX 954 768.

The boundary then follows Old Town Street, Park Road and then High Street East until it joins the A379 at SX 963768.

From this point the boundary follows the A379 east before leaving the road to cross to the mean low water mark of the south coastline at the junction with East Cliff Road at SX 965 768.

The boundary then follows this mean low water mark in a north easterly direction and crosses the mouth of the river Exe between the mean low water mark at Langstone Rock at SX 979 780 and the mean low water mark at Maer Rocks at SY 010 799.

From the mean low water mark the boundary crosses Maer Rocks to re-join Queens Drive at SY 010 800.

ANNEX 2

Description of the boundary of the infested area

Starting at Starcross Railway Station at SX 976 819 the boundary follows the railway line northwards until it reaches the railway bridge over the River Kenn at SX 974 831.

The boundary leaves the railway line at the bridge and follows the River Kenn west until it reaches the river bridge at SX 965 834.

The boundary then joins the track that bridges the river and heads southwards to Kenton and crosses the A378 onto Warbrough Hill at SX 964 831continuing until it reaches the junction with Witcombe Lane at SX 963 829.

The boundary follows Witcombe Lane north and then west until it reaches the junction with Mamhead Road at SX 957 830.

From this junction the boundary follows Mamhead Road south, forking right at the junction at SX 952 823 until it reaches the junction with another minor road at SX 948 818.

The boundary turns left at the junction and follows the minor road east towards Starcross, over the crossroads with Mowlish Lane at SX 952 816 until it reaches the junction with New Road at SX 974 812.

From this junction the boundary follows New Road southwards until it reaches the junction with the A379 at SX 976 808.

The boundary then follows the A379 north east towards the railway and re-joins the railway at SX 977 089.

The boundary continues along the railway northwards until re-joining the beginning of the boundary at the Starcross Railway Station at SX 976 819.

ANNEX 3

Map of demarcated area

