Our use of Cookies

This site uses only cookies strictly necessary to ensure the site works correctly.

Please read about how we use cookies.

Hide this message

Strictly necessary and non-essential cookies

By clicking accept all cookies, you agree to our use of cookies and to our cookie policy.

We use third-party cookies on this site.

You have accepted necessary cookies only

You can change your cookie settings at any time
Hide this message

BETA Your feedback will help us improve the UK Plant Health Information Portal

Pest/Disease Specific Information

EU Protected Zones of fireblight

List of prohibited species for export to EU Protected Zones of fireblight:

Plants and live pollen for pollination of the following species (excluding their fruit and seeds) are prohibited when exporting to European Union (EU) Protected Zones of fireblight (Erwinia amylovora):

  • Amelanchier
  • Chaenomeles
  • Cotoneaster
  • Crataegus
  • Cydonia
  • Eriobotrya
  • Malus
  • Mespilus
  • Photinia davidiana
  • Pyracantha
  • Pyrus
  • Sorbus

List of EU Protected Zones of fireblight:

a) Estonia;

b) Spain (except the autonomous communities of Andalucía, Aragón, Castilla la Mancha, Castilla y León, Extremadura, the autonomous community of Madrid, Murcia, Navarra and La Rioja, the province of Guipuzcoa (Basque Country), the comarcas of Garrigues, Noguera, Pla d’Urgell, Segrià and Urgell in the province of Lleida (Comunidad autonoma de Catalunya); and the municipalities of Alborache and Turís in the province of Valencia and the Comarcas de L’Alt Vinalopó and El Vinalopó Mitjà in the province of Alicante (Comunidad Valenciana));

c) France (Corsica);

d) Ireland (except Galway city); L 319/188 Official Journal of the European Union 10.12.2019 EN Plants, plant products and other objects CN code Protected zones;

e) Italy (Abruzzo, Apúlia, Basilicata, Calabria, Campania, Lazio, Liguria, Lombardy (except the provinces of Milan, Mantua, Sondrio and Varese, and the communes of Bovisio Masciago, Cesano Maderno, Desio, Limbiate, Nova Milanese and Varedo in Monza Brianza Province), Marche, Molise, Piedmont (except the communes of Busca, Centallo, Scarnafigi, Tarantasca and Villafalleto in the province of Cuneo), Sardinia, Sicily (except the municipalities of Cesarò (Messina Province), Maniace, Bronte, Adrano (Catania Province) and Centuripe, Regalbuto and Troina (Enna Province)), Tuscany, Umbria, Valle d'Aosta, Veneto (except the provinces of Rovigo and Venice, the communes Barbona, Boara Pisani, Castelbaldo, Masi, Piacenza d'Adige, S. Urbano and Vescovana in the province of Padova and the area situated to the South of the motorway A4 in the province of Verona));

f) Latvia;

g) Lithuania (except the municipalities of Babtai and Kėdainiai (region of Kaunas));

h) Slovenia (except the regions of Gorenjska, Koroška, Maribor and Notranjska, and the communes of Lendava and Renče-Vogrsko (south of the motorway H4) and Velika Polana, and the settlements Fużina, Gabrovčec, Glogovica, Gorenja vas, Gradiček, Grintovec, Ivančna Gorica, Krka, Krška vas, Male Lese, Malo Črnelo, Malo Globoko, Marinča vas, Mleščevo, Mrzlo Polje, Muljava, Podbukovje, Potok pri Muljavi, Šentvid pri Stični, Škrjanče, Trebnja Gorica, Velike Lese, Veliko Črnelo, Veliko Globoko, Vir pri Stični, Vrhpolje pri Šentvidu, Zagradec and Znojile pri Krki in the commune Ivančna Gorica);

i) Slovakia (except the county of Dunajská Streda, Hronovce and Hronské Kľačany (Levice County), Dvory nad Žitavou (Nové Zámky County), Málinec (Poltár County), Hrhov (Rožňava County), Veľké Ripňany (Topoľčany County), Kazimír, Luhyňa, Malý Horeš, Svätuše and Zatín (Trebišov County));

j) Finland;

Further guidance:

For further guidance on exporting high-risk and prohibited plants please visit gov.uk.

This information can be found in Commission Implementing Regulation (EU) 2019/2072, Annex III, Point a (1).